Wedding Photography Client Reviews

Looking for a different perspective? Hear what former clients have said about Charnell Timms Photography over the past decade. Commentary is not limited to her photographs, but includes insightful feedback on the experience of working with Charnell, both before, during and after the wedding celebrations.


Wedding at Hewing Hotel | Minneapolis, MN | November, 2021

Charnell is simply the best. She far exceeded our expectations (which were very high) -- we were so lucky to have had her at our wedding. She showed up far in advance of our ceremony to capture some of my favorite pictures and moments from the day, she made everyone laugh and feel at ease, her pictures are stunning and she gave us more amazing photos than we could've ever dreamed of. I cannot recommend Charnell highly enough!! She sent pictures very quickly and was in constant communication. Her blog, Instagram and Facebook pages gave us sneak peeks into our beautiful photos. I will only work with Charnell for any photography needs going forward -- Charnell helped make our wedding perfect!

- Andra & Sam


LGBTQ+ Wedding at Kellerman's Event Center | White Bear Lake, MN | October 2021

We are so grateful that circumstances lined up to allow us to have Charnell photograph our wedding. We feel like it was meant to be, and I can’t imagine what our day would have been like without her. The pictures turned out GORGEOUS, she has a fantastic eye, and she was also so talented at putting us (and our family) at ease. She is a joy to be around -- we loved her, our venue coordinator loved her, and our guests loved her! Thank you, Charnell! - Alyssa & Lisa


LGBTQ+ Wedding at University Club of St Paul | St Paul, MN | August, 2021

We loved Charnell from the moment we met her! She made everyone feel at ease and had us all laughing during official photos, and we didn’t even know she was there during the many special moments she captured. Charnell is very professional and will go the extra mile to make sure you will feel the day all over again later when looking at the photos. She honestly made my new bride and I (and our wedding party!) feel like celebrities. “Absolutely Brilliant!” - Jessica & Elijah


Wedding at Incarnation Catholic Church | Minneapolis, MN | August 2020

Charnell is a delight! She made our family laugh and relax, which is no small feat amidst wedding day jitters. She obviously has a passion for photography and is willing to contort herself in all sorts of positions to nab that perfect shot. It's a joy to be around someone who takes evident pride in her craft while remaining flexible and personable. - Christina & Tory

Private Backyard Covid Wedding | St Paul, MN | July 2020

We feel so lucky that we found Charnell to take the photographs at our wedding. She was professional but fun and made us feel relaxed the entire time. She has great energy. It was clear before we even saw the photos that she knew what she was doing and that they would turn out great, and we were right! Several members of our families mentioned how great she was, even after spending only 5 or 10 minutes with her. She was incredibly flexible with our schedule and knew how to make the most out of the 2 hours she had with us. Thank you so much, Charnell. We hope you are available for a family photo shoot when our baby girl arrives in September! - Colleen & Connor


Wedding at St Croix River Club | Stillwater, MN | October 2019

OMGosh! Charnell was fabulous. I would highly recommend her for any event! Charnell has a calming effect, great sense of humor and is professional all at the same time! Can't wait to see our photos! - Angie & Greg


Wedding at Gardens of Castle Rock | Northfield, MN | August 2019

This lady is full of ideas and “positive energy”... knows how to get the smiles and laughs and adds so much fun into taking pictures!!! Can’t wait to see the pictures she took...to be honest I bet she could photograph a blade of grass and make it smile and feel like the biggest... tallest ...special piece of grass!! Thanks Charnell for your great energy at my sister's wedding!! Highly recommended!!! 👍 - Lisa & John, review by bride's sister Penny


Wedding at Apple Valley, MN | February, 2019

Charnell was a dream to work with. She is very creative, fun, energetic and makes everyone feel comfortable in front of the lens. She responded promptly to our first email inquiry about her services and was always responsive to any questions up until the wedding day and after. She arrived on time and stayed late to take extra pictures of the entire wedding group. Her prices are very competitive and she mailed the usb with proofs back within 2 weeks of the ceremony. Charnell captured our love and happiness in her lenses and we will have them forever. She has such an easy going style and wonderful warmth and smile to make you feel at ease when you're going crazy with nerves and excitement. We definitely recommend Charnell for all your photography needs~you won't be disappointed. - Jane & Kevin


LGBTQ+ Wedding at Trellis Outdoor Weddings | Stillwater, MN | November 2018

Above & Beyond!!! Wow. We seriously don't even know where to begin. Charnell was extraordinary, and our guests absolutely loved her, too! She was brilliant at making everyone laugh and smile, and our pictures turned out better than we could have hoped; her shots completely captured nuances and moments that truly demonstrated the amazing feeling of our special day. By the time our day was over, we felt as though we had found a new friend in Charnell, and we will forever cherish the memory of her effervescent personality, dazzling wit, outstanding laugh, and radiant smile. - Terri & Michelle


LGBTQ+ Wedding at Scott County Fairgrounds | Jordan, MN | September 2018

Having a photographer as talented, personable, professional, and thought outside of the box was one of our biggest desires for the day. We knew from the moment that we met Charnell that she was going to be the one for us, we were instantly dazzled by her charm, wit and presence. The photos on Charnell's website and on her blog proved to us that she had the aesthetic that we were looking for. As for prices they were very comparable and very fair considering her immense talent. If you are looking for an amazing photographer that will leave even your guests buzzing about how great they are, then Charnell is the one for you too. - Nathan & Tony


LGBTQ+ Wedding at Minnesota Boat Club, Raspberry Island | St Paul, MN | July 2018

Charnell is fantastic!! From the moment of our first exchange via email, Charnell brought a positive energy and attention to make our day so special, always very responsive. As a LGBTQ couple, we felt extremely comfortable talking to her and she was able to capture exactly what we wanted: the love, joy, and experience of our day. So many of our guests commented about how much they loved our photographer and how she moved all around to capture each moment. Our pictures turned out amazing!! We could not be happier with all of our photograph options. Cannot recommend more highly a fantastic photographer!

- Dave & Jim


LGBTQ+ Wedding at Calhoun Beach Apartments | Minneapolis, MN | April 2018

Black & White photography of wedding couple during a toast

Our first draw into working with Charnell stemmed from seeing samples of her work and in particular the stunning same-sex wedding photos in her portfolio. Planning an LGBT wedding in today's social-political climate can at times be a little stressful. After our first meeting with Charnell, both my Wife and I we're so relaxed and instantly found a connection with her. Conversation was easy and her professionalism put all the nerves at ease.

Both my wife and I were rugby players in college and when we shared this with Charnell she seemed genuinely interested in how the sport brought us together. So much so, that when Charnell was on vacation shortly after our meeting she began e-mailing us photos of the Rugby Matches she was attending in South Africa. A truly personal touch that meant so much to us that our photographer "gets us" and cares about us.

I am naturally hesitant about photo shoots and generally get frustrated/bored/uninterested after 10-15 shots. When I shared this with Charnell at our first meeting she said "that's because you haven't done a shoot with me yet". It wouldn't be until our wedding day that I fully understood and appreciated this sentiment. Our wedding guests and bridal parties loved interacting with Charnell and her candid go lucky attitude kept everything up beat and moving throughout the day. In addition, the volume of high quality photos she was able to capture is unbelievable. To this day I do not know how she was in so many places at once, but every angle and every shot was PERFECT and AMAZING.

After the wedding Charnell was highly responsive and had a thumb drive mailed to our home address with all the memories from the day. She followed through on everything she said she would do and more. Quality photography is worth the investment and is one of the best ways to capture your special day. We were working on a strict budget and ended up investing a little more into our photography to be able to work with Charnell and it was the best decision we could have made. Her build your own package was perfect for us because we could postpone getting immediate prints and added an extra hour of her photo services to capture more of our day.


I can't say enough good things about working with Charnell and in summary I will say, her flair, style and constant smile/laughter makes the day of photos the most natural and easy process possible. At the end of the day, the best piece of advice I can offer is -- find a way to invest in her services and you won't be disappointed. Cheers! - Emily Ayote


LGBTQ+ Wedding at the Victoria Room | St Paul, MN | October, 2017

Two brides in white wedding gowns holding hands

Charnell did such an amazing job making our wedding photos shine. Throughout the ceremony and reception, I knew she would find a way to get the perfect shot. I do not know if she does rock climbing in her free time, or maybe she is a parkour expert. Either way, the angles and shots that she was able to develop were incredible. There is no other photographer that I would recommend. She has an amazing energy about her that just makes you authentically happy and yourself. Even our guests commented on her sociability and amazingness. If you want that 1 in a million shot, she is definitely the photographer for you. - Kristen & Scarlet - Minneapolis, MN


LGBTQ+ Wedding at Columbia Manor | Minneapolis, MN | August 2016

Outdoor Wedding Ceremony

Charnell was wonderful. I don't think I am always very photogenic as I am unsure of what to do and how to be in photos - but Charnell gave lots of great direction and lots of encouragement and I was really happy with having her at our wedding. Looking back there is no way I would hire anyone else. Also, she gets photos to you very quickly. She had a preview on facebook within four days and will have all the photos done within two weeks. I also really appreciated that she has done of LGBT weddings, which was important to us that we had someone with experience. - Bobbi Jo & Sharon


Wedding at Lalapanzie Lodge, Somerset West | Cape Town, South Africa | March 2015

Charnell is truly one of the most incredible and passionate photographers we have met. Throughout the shoot, she kept us and all our family members smiling for each picture. Her personality is so infectious that she is able to make the shyest person feel comfortable.


I remember our family members saying that they have never experienced such a brilliant photographer in their life. The important part of Charnell's work is that her pictures are brilliant. She was able to capture our wedding day better than we ever imagined.


We are truly thankful that we found Charnell and we strongly recommend her to friends, family, colleagues and everyone who reads this review. Thank you very much Charnell for your part in making our day special, we really appreciate it. - Chanique & Keagan


Elopement Wedding at Gunflint Lodge | Grand Marais, MN | August, 2015

Bride & Groom hugging on dock on a lake

Charnell was great to work with from the start. She responded quickly to our enquiries and gave us a photo package right away, whilst other photographers wanted to go back and forth (endlessly) before revealing a price. Our wedding was in the northernmost region of Minnesota, and she drove from the Twin Cities to meet us there.

Charnell arrived right on time, enthusiastic and somehow managed to make two camera-shy people feel comfortable coming out of their shell too. She was having fun photographing us and we fed off her energy. Charnell also went outside the box with her compositions. It was a great experience. Following each of our 'congratulations' has been “your photos are beautiful”. We feel so luck to have crossed paths with Charnell. - Michelle & Nate Haralson


Intimate Family Wedding at Tintswalo Atlantic | Cape Town, South Africa | December 2014

Charnell was one of the highlights of our small intimate family wedding held in December 2014. Called in at the last minute, Charnell did an amazing job and has the wonderful ability of putting all guests at ease, but more importantly to capture the bride and groom looking their best. As another client commented, wonderful wedding photographs are the “gift that keeps on giving”. Everyone wants to look their best on their wedding day and somehow Charnell manages to do just that. Her eye for detail, infectious personality and skill with the camera make her a pleasure to work with. Her formal wedding album is a must and a wonderful gift for friends and family. We are looking forward to seeing Charnell again when she photographs our one year old, Chloe in December 2015! I cannot recommend Charnell enough. - Natalie & Andrew


Destination Wedding at Spier Wine Estate | Stellenbosch, South Africa | February 2014

Sometimes the stars align to connect you with the perfect person; and when you look back at it after some time, you realize how truly blessed you are.


We chose Charnell to photograph our wedding after reviewing the websites of many other photographers. This would prove to be one of the best decisions of the wedding planning stage. We felt so at ease from the first communications with Charnell and the whole process was so smooth, that it felt automatic.

On the big day, Charnell took on the role of more than a photographer; She was like our personal coordinator, and successfully guided us through the day. Her energy was unbelievable! My relatives from the UK and the Caribbean were simply amazed by how effortlessly she was able to raise the energy levels of the wedding party.

To top it off, we were absolutely thrilled when we received our photos. Charnell's photos captured such a natural feel that is so difficult to find these days. Thanks Charnell!

- Zola and Anton


Wedding at Spirit Mountain | Duluth, MN | August 2013

Charnell rocks! I'm not the type of person who enjoys getting the typical staged pictures taken. I prefer to enjoy the moment and have the photographer capture real moments. Turns out that wasn't going to work for my bride and we had both!


Charnell did a fantastic job keeping everyone (including myself) entertained and smiling throughout all the pictures. Charnell kept things moving and didn't require twenty of the same picture to get things right. The pictures speak for themselves. Charnell is a true professional who is a joy to be around and produces exceptional photographs. I recommend her to everyone I know. - Chris & Katie


LGBTQ+ Wedding at Rijks Wine Estate | Tulbagh, South Africa | May 2013

Choosing a wedding photographer is a tricky business, not only because it's one of the most important days in your life, but being a same-sex couple it made the decision even harder as we needed to find a talented photographer that we could feel both comfortable with and also enjoy the whole photographic experience.


Lucky for us, we found so much more than what we had hoped for when we met Charnell. With her down-to-earth approach and wonderful sense of humor, Charnell made us feel comfortable from the word go. We had an absolute blast working with Charnell.


We were absolutely blown away by the quality of Charnell's work and impressed with her style of shooting too. The end result was value for money, fun, comfort, and quality all in one package. We highly recommend Charnell for any photo shoot. - Carol & Michelle


Destination Wedding at The Vineyard Hotel | Cape Town, South Africa | October 2013

Organizing a wedding in South Africa from abroad was quite stressful but Charnell made this experience so much easier for us. She completely understood what we were after, showed us examples of previous weddings that would work for us (including some at our venue) and gave us some fantastic suggestions. On the day, she took amazing pictures from different angles of the guests and scenery and even managed to get all the toddlers to look at the camera while taking the shots. I also really liked that she pointed our our most flattering poses so we looked our best in every picture. Thanks Charnell, we will definitely recommend you to everyone we know. Thanks and loads of love - Einat & Laurence


Diemersdal Wine Estate | Wellington, South Africa | December, 2010

I would just like to drop you a note saying that you are the most incredible photographer. I do many weddings and find a lot of photographers do not bring with them a major personality. You really added to the wedding with your enthusiasm and creativity.

- Jean Keys, Marriage Officer


Wedding at Minneapolis City Hall | Minneapolis, MN | January 2009

The most common comment we received post-wedding was, 'Your photographer was amazing!" Wait, weren't they suppose to comment on the bride's dress? In all honesty, we must admit, we couldn't have asked for more. Charnell truly is amazing and is permanently hired  in our book.


Charnell is lively, vibrant, creative, with an eye for design. She has the most unique ability to capture any moment, from the most precious and intimate to silly and playful. Her photos were taken with ease, bringing warmth to our chilly (sun-zero) Minnesota wedding. A contract nor words can describe her full offering. We can personally attest that you will receive not only one of the best international photographers, you will benefit from her charm, wit, and ability to connect with all people. Charnell Timms, once our photographer, now our friend. - Christine & Patrick Brown


Destination Wedding at la Ferte Fresnal Chateau | Normandy, France | November 2008

Charnell's services came highly recommended to us and we were not disappointed. Charnell was given her brief to minimize the 'formality' of taking photographs and to maximize the feel of being a 'roving photographer' to capture the actual events throughout the day rather than stage-managing events which did not happen. She achieved this with ease and flair and the results are a joy to behold. Every time we look through those images it brings memories flooding back and provides us with an insight into what others were doing on the day. The latter is very important to us, even with the best will in the world, it is impossible to be two places at once.


Charnell's enthusiasm and boundless energy enabled her to fulfill her assignment with consummate professionalism and that special 'eye' which only a first-class photographer can process--the ability to see beyond what most of us see. I don't think the guests in France have ever seen a photographer quite like you before and they all thought you were great. We have no hesitation in recommending Charnell to anyone who views her website. You will not regret your decision. - Hillary, Mother of the Bride


Destination Wedding in Dusseldorf, Germany | August, 2007

I am a passionate collector of vintage photographs of artists like Beard, Haase, Gabo, Lindbergh etc. and therefore assume that I have a good understanding of the art of contemporary photography.


Charnell Timms worked on several occasions for me (both in Germany and South Africa) as both my wedding and windsurfing photographer. Despite some difficult weather conditions, each time the results were absolutely fascinating. Her pictures not only reflect the scenery but transport the moment with all its emotions in a unique and powerful way. With a great sense of humor and intuition, she makes people comfortable to express themselves in front of the camera, resulting in people looking more beautiful, interesting and happy. In addition, she has tremendous instinct to shoot the little special moments in-between the typical picture setups.


Speaking of her work as an artist, I truly believe that she is looking at a successful future. Her series 'African Game', 'Townships' and 'Lights and Architecture' already have the potential to become part of the contemporary photographic art. Against this backdrop, I can highly recommend Charnell Timms Photography. - Christian G


Destination wedding at Rondebosch | Cape Town, South Africa | January, 2006

I (and all the family) were quite overwhelmed by the beauty of Geordie & Jean's wedding photos. You have marvelous flair and feel for the right moment, the best setting, and the optimal angle. And you were such a happy presence through it all, which of course contributed greatly to the relaxed and receptive mood of your subjects. We were so lucky in finding you. I wish you could hear all the 'oohs and aahs' of those admiring your work. With thanks and warm best wishes, - Allan, Father of the Bride of Geordi Bishops


Keywords:

#guestbook #wedding #client #commentary #reviews #weddingphotographerreviews #lgbtweddingphotographerreviews #destinationweddingphotographerreviews #minneapolisweddingphotographer #charnelltimmsphotography